Watched Casino Royale on DVD last night. Near the end, Mr Bond decides to tender his resignation by sending an email to M from his franchise-sponsoring Sony Vaio laptop…

The camera cuts to the laptop screen, showing the lengthy resignation letter (“I hereby tender my resignation with immediate effect”), and the high-security MI6 email client…

James clicks Send, and the email sends to the address “M (MI6 HQ)”. For such a short email, it’s a strangely big file: 85KB…

Once sent, the MI6 mailbox comes up - the bottom half of the screen shows the Outbox, so the top half is probably the Inbox.

Taking a closer look at the Outbox, you can see that it’s ordered as “Arrange By Sent”, which presumably means that the most recently sent email (”Resignation”) is at the top of the list, with all the emails sent that day grouped as “Today (10 Messages)”. Here’s a close-up:

So he must have sent 9 emails that day before he resigned. And what kind of emails does a top-secret international super-spy send? “Stationary Request” to david.dean@thenet.com! Maybe he wanted a new stapler?!
The email he sent before that was “Un-named” to anne.bennett@thenet.com, but prior to that, he sent three “Security Updates” - the first, “Security Update 3″ to someone called “andrew”, then “Security Update 2″ to david.hicks@thenet.com, and most recently “Security Update 1″ to neil.pinkawa@thenet.com. None of the email subjects have “Re: ” in the title, so they must all be his own work. So why would he send three security updates in descending order to three different people?! Must be a spy thing.
…And before the security updates, Mr Bond also seems to be filling in for Miss Moneypenny…
So who or what is this mysterious “thenet.com” organization? According to whois.net, it’s a Florida-based company called NetTuner Corp, who make money by snapping up and recycling domain-names:
Registrant:
NetTuner Corp.
4465 W. Gandy Blvd., Suite 801
Tampa, FL 33611
USDomain Name: THENET.COM
Administrative Contact:
Domain Administrator domains@nettuner.com
NetTuner Corp.
4465 W. Gandy Blvd., Suite 801
Tampa, FL 33611
US
813-839-9000 (FAX) 813-837-8900
…but I reckon it’s all a cover!!


















Add New Comment
Viewing 16 Comments
Thanks. Your comment is awaiting approval by a moderator.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Do you already have an account? Log in and claim this comment.
Add New Comment